Is it Legal to Block a Serve in Volleyball?


Volleyball is a fast paced, high scoring game. Blocks and spikes can be used to win the point for your team. But did you know that blocking or spiking a serve in volleyball is illegal? A serve can’t be spiked or blocked. If the ball comes off of the net and hits you, you must pass it back over the net with both hands before it touches another player on either side of the court (aka touching).

The server then gets to play one more time. This blog post will teach new players how to properly block or spike a volley so they don’t get penalized by their opponents!

Can a Serve in Volleyball be blocked?

A serve can’t be spiked or blocked. A player, for example, may simply return a serve if he or she has committed a blunder with the ball.

Why is it a violation of the rules to block or spike on a serve?

In volleyball, there are four varieties of serves: a underhand serve, a floater serve, a topspin serve, and a jump serve. Floater, topspin, and jump serves are popular among different players.

Can you block a serve in Volleyball? - Volleyball Gear Guide

If you were to block or attack the server, it would be difficult because the ball is struck with great force and it’s hard to return. The rally might end with one point. However, if you block the serve in volleyball, you will commit service interference (a violation of the rules).

Why does this Rule exist?

When developing volleyball rules, not allowing players to spike or block on a serve is important to protect the server and keep the game fair. If the rules allowed a player to spike or block, the server can’t attack and can only defend.

What if the serve is spiked or blocked after it has been served?
Technically, you may legitimately stop the ball after a service. However, I recommend that you don’t do it since it will be to your team’s disadvantage, and as stated above, would be considered service interference.

What is the penalty for Service Interference?
This is actually a difficult answer to give for this since it rarely has to be enforced. From the rules point of view, if you do block or attack the serve, then it would be considered service interference which results in your team losing that rally (and receiving 0 points). Basically, the serving team would serve again.

Why is blocking a serve illegal?

Blocking a served volleyball is illegal because that would make all serves very high, balloon like, and make the return and setting of plays much easier. These higher serves would give a clear advantage to the receiving team.

Why is attacking a serve illegal?

Attacking a served volleyball is also illegal because it would be much easier to hit down the ball. This might make spiking very easy and make high-level plays in volleyball not as difficult which would give an advantage to the receiving team.

Does beach volleyball have the same rules?

Yes, in beach volleyball, you’re not allowed to block or spike the ball off the of the initial serve.

Who is eligible as a blocker in volleyball?

In volleyball, not every player is permitted to block.The defensive players who play on the first line, known as the third meter line (or 10 feet line), always combine a block.It is possible to have one, two, or three blockers.

Players who are set farther away than the third meter line can’t exceed it; otherwise, their team loses a point.

In volleyball, how many times can you serve?

Volleyball may be a tough job, especially if you’re the server. It’s not because it’s difficult; it’s because it might go on for an eternity.

A player serves whenever his team wins a point. If the serving player team won the point when he was serving, he can serve again. He serviced until his team lost the point, in which case another player must take over and serve again. One player may therefore serve up to 25 times per set (which is how long one set lasts).

But I haven’t witnessed anyone complete 25 sets in a row. Normally, players don’t serve more than four times in a row. However, there are exceptions to the rule. When my team was winning 23:18 and we were 2 points away from victory, an opponent player suddenly began serving wonderfully, winning this set and the rest of the game

If you’re experiencing a block or attack, what happens if you touch the net?
Volleyball is a highly technical sport. There are several regulations to be followed. One of them is the net rules, which must be obeyed to the letter.

You’re jumping to block the spiker. He hit your hands with the ball, and you’re pleased because your team just scored a point. However, when you look at the referee, he is blowing his whistle and you lose one point. What’s going on here?

You have probably touched the volleyball net at some point while on either offense or defense. In volleyball, it is strictly prohibited to contact the net. If you do so, your opponent receives one point. There are, however, a few anomalies to this rule.

What happens if the volleyball touches the antenna?

The net’s antenna is a crucial component. It’s not permitted to handle it. If the ball or you brush against it during a block, your opponents gain one point..

What are the exact guidelines for volleyball servings?
After contact, the client’s service must continue until after the end line.The server may choose to serve the ball underhand or overhand, at his or her discretion. The ball must be easily visible to opponents before being served. The served ball may brush the net and fall on the other side for a point.

Recent Posts